Oiwajuku Folk Museum


The Oiwajyuku Local History Museum was opened in July 1985 to maintain and preserve the unique local culture of Oiwajyuku, which flourished as an inn town during the Edo period, and the western part of Karuizawa Town.
Located at the east exit of Oiwakejuku, it stands in a lush green environment adjacent to Sengen Shrine and Oiwake Park. The exterior of the building is made in the style of an inn and the interior is constructed in a wooden style, creating a calm atmosphere of the Edo period.

Guide to the Museum
The museum also exhibits a corner where visitors can listen to "Oiwambushi," a traditional folk song of Karuizawa, a restored part of a Masugata teahouse "Tsugaruya," which still remains today, and dioramas and models of the inn, side main camps, and inns, to introduce the history of the inn and the local area in an easy-to-understand manner. The dioramas and models of the inns, side main camps, and inns are on display to introduce the history of the inns and the region in an easy-to-understand manner.

The museum also holds special exhibitions related to Oibu every year, and in the summer, it holds a cultural class and a summer concert.


Oiwajuku Folk Museum

Address 1155-8 Oaza-Oiwake, Karuizawa-cho, Kitasaku-gun
Business Hours 9:00 - 17:00 (Admission until 16:30)
Regular closing day Wednesdays (If Wednesday is a national holiday, the museum will be open.)
Year-end and New Year holidays (December 28 - January 4)
Open daily from July 15 to October 31
Related Sites

Model Course

Pickup Site